Sex Offenders

This information is provided by the Grand Forks Police Department to assist you in understanding what is being done to offer one more layer of protection to the public. The information provided gives a brief and concise explanation of what the State of North Dakota and the Grand Forks Police Department are doing in terms of Sex Offender Registration, Tracking, and Community Notification.

Further information can be obtained from the North Dakota Attorney Generals Web site at
http://www.sexoffender.nd.gov.

It is important to note that sex offenders who have registered and complied with the law as court ordered, still have rights. The police department will take seriously any harassment, assaults, or any other crime committed against an offender. We also intend to continue to monitor the offenders as closely as is legal and practical and to fulfill all legal requirements concerning public notification. Our goal is the safety of all citizens.

Any questions or concerns you may have can be directed to the Grand Forks Police Department Community Resource Bureau at 787-8031.

ASSIGNMENT OF RISK LEVEL TO OFFENDERS

After August 1, 2002, the North Dakota Attorney General’s Office, North Dakota Department of Corrections and the North Dakota Department of Juvenile Services became responsible for  conducting assessments of offenders’ level of risk to the public.  This assessment is currently conducted by the Sex Offender Risk Assessment Committee, which is comprised of representatives of treatment centers and law enforcement, as well as the three agencies listed above.

Once the necessary background information has been compiled, the Minnesota Sex Offender Screening Tool-Revised (MnSOST-R) is used to determine the offenders risk to the public.  The MnSOST-R was originally developed by the Minnesota Department of Corrections and has been adopted by the state of North Dakota as a risk assessment instrument.  The assessment determines an objective score based on several scientifically based criteria.  The assessment assigns the offender one of three risk categories:  Level 1-Low, Level 2-Moderate, and Level 3–High.  These are meant to designate a risk potential for re-offending.  It is important to note that no mechanism can accurately predict future behavior.  A risk level of high does not necessarily mean that an offender will re-offend, just as being considered a low risk does not necessarily mean they won’t re-offend.  Risk assessment is not a precise science.  It does  however, give law enforcement and the public one more tool to use in protection of all citizens, as well as providing guidance regarding community notification.

Level 1 offenders are required to register for 15 years, Level 2 offenders register for 25 years, and Level 3 offenders register for life.

COMMUNITY NOTIFICATION

When the risk assessment has been completed and a risk level has been assigned to an offender, the police department will notify the community based on the level of risk the offender may pose to the public.

If the offender’s risk level category is determined to be Level 1 (low), the department may notify victims, witnesses, and other law enforcement agencies.

If the offender’s risk level category is determined to be Level 2 (moderate), the department may notify agencies or groups the offender is likely to encounter so these agencies or groups can take the necessary steps to secure their facility and protect those in their care.

If the offender’s risk level category is determined to be Level 3 (high), the department shall notify the entire community.  The department will provide the offender’s information to the local media as part of the notification process.  The department will use community notification to provide residents with   specific information about the offender and offer public safety education.  The department will also post the notification information on the High Risk Offenders page.

One other option that you may want to consider is the statewide list of convicted offenders that the Attorney General releases. This is a list of all offenders in the state who have been convicted and have been ordered to register. It contains the last known address of the offender and the crime of which they were convicted. Visit the public list of Registered Offenders for the State of North Dakota.

NORTH DAKOTA LAWS CONCERNING CONVICTED SEX OFFENDERS
AND OFFENDERS AGAINST CHILDREN

North Dakota State law requires persons to register with a law enforcement agency where they live, work, or attend school, after they have been convicted of a sex offense or a crime against a child.

North Dakota Century Code 12.1-32-15 defines a sexual offender as a person who has pled guilty or has been found guilty of committing a violation of the following sections or equivalent ordinances:
  • Gross sexual imposition (rape)
  • Continuous sexual abuse of a child
  • Sexual imposition
  • Corruption or solicitation of minors
  • Luring minors by computer
  • Sexual abuse of wards
  • Sexual assault
  • Incest
  • Indecent exposure
  • Surreptitious intrusion
  • Sexual performances by children
North Dakota Century Code 12.1-32-15 defines a crime against a child to be a violation of the following chapters or equivalent ordinances in which the victim is under 18 years of age:
  • Homicide
  • Assault
  • Kidnapping
  • Prostitution
  • Abuse or neglect of child
OFFENDER REGISTRATION AND TRACKING

When a person is required to register with the police department, they must do so within 3 days of taking up residence. The person must appear at the department and complete a registration form, be fingerprinted and photographed. The person receives a copy of the registration form, the department keeps a copy, and a copy is forwarded to the North Dakota Attorney General’s Office. When a registered offender moves to a new address, changes names, employment or schools, the offender must appear at the department to update the registration information.

A person who fails to register with the police department may be found guilty of a Class C Felony, punishable by 5 years incarceration and/or $5,000 fine. A person found guilty of this offense will face a mandatory minimum sentence of 90 days in jail and one year of supervised probation.

Since July of 1999, the Grand Forks Police Department has been tracking the whereabouts of any convicted offenders that we gain knowledge of that are living and or working in our city. We attempt to verify that they are living where they say they are, that they are indeed registered as ordered, and living up to any conditions imposed on them by the court. If we find that they have not fulfilled the requirements of the law, we will pursue any charge against them that is appropriate. If any person has information about a convicted sex offender who may be violating the court ordered conditions of their release, we encourage you to call the Grand Forks Police Department at 787-8000. Someone may also report a crime and remain anonymous by calling Crimestoppers at 746-1000.

North Dakota Registered Sex Offenders

Minnesota Registered Sex Offenders

Dru Sjodin National Sex Offender Public Registry

For further information, contact the Community Resource Bureau (787-8031).
E-mail:
Corporal Brian Robbins