School Resource Officers:

This program started in the late 1990's with an officer assigned to each high school. Our program now consists of 5 officers. One in each high school, one covering all three middle schools, and two elementary school liaison officers.

SRO’s are instrumental in developing and implementing school safety and lockdown procedures. We work side by side with Grand Forks Public Schools to enhance the safety and security of our students. All of these activities are guided by the triad concept of school policing – Law Enforcement Officer, Informal Counselor and Instructor.

If you have questions, please feel free to contact your school resource officer using the contact information listed below.

Central High School

Cpl. Patrick Torok 701-740-7853 pat.torok@gfschools.org

Red River High School

Cpl. Beth Skari 701-740-6759 bskari@grandforksgov.com

*Response to Community High School is managed by both Cpl. Torok and Cpl.Skari

Valley/Schroeder/South Middle School

Cpl. Kris Brown 701-787-8084, cell # 701-740-6731   kbrown@grandforksgov.com

Lake Agassiz/West/Winship/Wilder/Century/St. Michaels Elementary School

Cpl. Jessica Thorlacius 701-787-8066 jthorlacius@grandforksgov.com

Ben Franklin/Discovery/Phoenix/Lewis & Clark/Holy Family/Viking/Kelly Elementary School

Cpl. Jon Lampi 701-787-8082 jlampi@grandforksgov.com

Supervisor for all SROs

Sgt. Doug Wright 701-787-8085 dwright@grandforksgov.com

School District Contact about SRO’s

Assistant Superintendent Jody Thompson jody.thompson@gfschools.org

***************************************************************************************************************************

Listed below are a number of duties an SRO will encounter on a regular basis:

  • Enforce criminal and traffic laws at school campuses
  • Conduct classroom and community presentations on a variety of police subjects
  • Build police-student rapport through informal, non-enforcement contacts and activities
  • Use police experience and training to improve school safety and security, in close cooperation with school administrators and faculty
  • Attend after-school events and activities, like dances and sporting events
  • Act as a school building liaison for residents in campus neighborhoods, addressing safety, traffic and crime concerns
  • Teach 5th  grade healthy relationships, consequences and chemical abuse prevention program component (Winning Decisions)
  • Teach 7th grade Gang Resistance Education And Training (G.R.E.A.T.) is an effective gang and violence prevention program built around school-based, law enforcement officer-instructed classroom curricula. Act as a law enforcement liaison with the schools, assisting with communication, crime prevention and criminal investigations on issues that may happen outside normal school hours.

Additional Resources:

Grand Forks Public Schools

i-Safe Inc- Internet Safety Education

Netsmartz- Internet Safety Education

G.R.E.A.T. – Gang Resistance Education and Training

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player QuickTime Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer