Planning & Zoning Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
The Planning and Zoning commission consists of nine (9) members to recommend the boundaries of the various original districts and appropriate regulations to be enforced therein (per North Dakota Century Code Sections 40-47-06 and 40-48-03).


Six (6) members to be appointed by the mayor with the approval of the city council.  Additionally, three (3) persons residing within the City’s extraterritorial limits to be appointed by the Grand Forks County Board of County Commissioners will serve on the commission as well.   Ex-Officio members include the City Engineer for a total of 10 commissioners.  Commissioners are appointed for 5 year terms.

  • Andrew Budke

    Term Expires:  11/8/2023

  • Cole Johnson
    Term Expires:7/6/2022

  • Peter Kuhn (County)
    Term Expires: 8/4/2021

  • Paula Lee
    Term Expires:  12/7/2021

  • Jamie Lunski
    Term Expires: 11/8/2023

  • Frank Matejcek (County)
    Term Expires: 9/19/2023 

  • Alex Reichert
    Term Expires: 12/07/2021

  • Meggen Sande  
    Term Expires: 7/6/2022

  • Steven Wasvick (County)
    Term Expires:  3/29/2021

Ex-Officio Members:
Al Grasser, City Engineer




Planning & Zoning Meeting Dates


Planning & Zoning Department

Planning & Zoning Commission

  • Video Link

Planning & Zoning Commission Meeting

December 4, 2019, 5:30pm

Grand Forks Council Chambers

  1. Roll Call

    ____Budke  ___Johnson  ___Kuhn  ___Lee   ___Lunski   ____Matejcek   ___Reichert  ___Sande  ___ Wasvick

  2. Reading and Approval of Minutes for November 6, 2019

  3. Public Hearings, Final Approvals, Petitions,and Minor Changes

    3-1       (Public Hearing – Final) An ordinance amending sections 18-0204 (2) Rules & Definitions; 18-0219(9) I-2 Heavy Industrial District side yard requirements, ; 18-0302 (12) Off-Street Parking & Loading; 18-0309 (4) Landscaping sections of the Grand Forks City Code for the purpose of establishing allowances for gravel, and requirements for curb and gutter, landscaping in I-2 districts.

    3-2         An ordinance to annex all of Auditor’s Subdivision No. 51, located at North 42nd Street and 27th Ave North.

    3-3         Vacation of a 10-foot walkway easement lying within Lots A, B, C and 10, Block A, LeClerc’s Addition, and a 15-foot walkway and driveway easement located on Lots A and B, Block A, LeClerc’s Addition.                      

  4. Communications and Preliminary Approvals


  5. Reports from the Planning Department


  6. Other Business


    6-1       City Attorney briefing on open meeting laws and related topics.

    6-2         2020 update of the Commission by-laws.

    6-3         2020 Planning and Zoning Commission meeting schedule.

    6-4         2019 Meeting Attendance

  7. Adjournment


The next regular meeting is January 8, 2020 at 5:30 pm in the City Hall Council Chambers.

Please note the the regularly scheduled meeting for first Wednesday of every month
has been pushed back a week due to New Years Day Holiday.  

Any individual requiring special accommodations to allow access or participation at city meetings is
asked to notify the ADA Coordinator (746-2655) of their needs one week prior to the meeting.

Return to full list >>

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer