MPO Executive Policy Board

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

1. Functions

  1. The Executive Policy Committee shall prepare and adopt a Plan and recommend policies for the development of the area. The Plan shall be based on existing conditions and probable future growth and shall be made with the general purpose of guiding a coordinated and harmonious development that will promote the health, safety and general welfare of the inhabitants. The Plan shall also seek to promote efficiency and economy in the process of land development and population distribution so as to reduce the waste of resources; and it shall promote an efficient and economic utilization and conservation of the means of production of food and water, of sanitary and other facilities and of natural resources and transportation.

  2. The Executive Policy Committee shall act as the official area-wide planning agency for the Metropolitan Area and shall be designated as a consortium of governments for federal legislation dealing with transportation, land use, and any other issue deemed appropriate by their respective governing bodies and as the official Area Planning Organization as required by the United States Department of Transportation and other agencies.

2. Membership

The Executive Policy Committee shall consist of at least two-thirds elected officials and each member unit of government shall be allowed voting representation as follows:
  1. Two elected officials from the Grand Forks City Council;

  2. Two elected officials from the East Grand Forks City Council;

  3. One member each from the Grand Forks and Polk County Commissions;

  4. One member each representing the Grand Forks and East Grand Forks City Planning Commissions;

  5. Representatives shall be appointed by the respective bodies they are to represent.

3. Terms

Members of the Policy Committee shall serve for a term of two (2) years except that members of the respective governing bodies holding memberships by virtue of their elected positions shall hold office only during their respective terms of office.

4. Members

  • Gary Malm - Grand Forks County

  • Ken Vein -Grand Forks City Council
  • Warren Strandell - Polk County
  • Al Grasser - Grand Forks P&Z

  • Marc DeMers - East Grand Forks City Council

  • Michael Powers - East Grand Forks P&Z

  • Jeannie Mock - Grand Forks City Council
  • Clarence Vetter - East Grand Forks City Council


Earl Haugen, MPO Executive Director   Email  746-2657

Housing Insecurity Listening Session

  • Date: 04/15/2020 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
  • Location: Zoom Meeting - email for link to join


Stable housing is more important than ever before as we add Covid-19, community spread and shelter-in-place to the equation.  The City of Grand Forks and local partners will hold a listening session to gather information from the non-profit community on the housing challenges they are seeing and hear ideas for solutions and support.  We will share this information with our state and federal partners, and it will help guide policies and programs to address the COVID-19 crisis.  With your help, we’ll shape our local approach to recovery.


  • Mayor Michael Brown
  • Katie Dachtler, Grand Forks City Council, Co-Moderator
  • Jeannie Mock, Grand Forks City Council, Co-Moderator
  • Terry Hanson, Director, Grand Forks Housing Authority
  • Michelle Rydz, Executive Director, High Plains Fair Housing Center
  • Sue Shirek, Executive Director, Northlands Rescue Mission
  • Kent Keys, Executive Director, Red River Valley Community Action
  • Lindy Sund, Social Worker, The Salvation Army
  • Jennifer Modeen, Social Worker, Grand Forks Public Schools
  • Dave Sena, Executive Director, United Way Grand Forks-East Grand Forks-Area


TIME:    April 15, 2020, 3:00 PM Central Time (US and Canada)

For login information to participate, email Andy Conlon,, to register for event.  


Return to full list >>