Storm Clean Up/Leaf Collection

Crews will continue to pick up tree debris next week.  Crews will also start leaf collection on Oct. 21st.  CLICK HERE for more information on fall leaf collection.

Planning & Zoning Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Planning and Zoning Commission (1 At-Large Position Open)

  • Type:Volunteer
  • Salary/Pay Rate:Volunteer
  • Posted Date:09/10/2019

The Grand Forks Planning and Zoning Commission serves as an advisory board to the City Council on matters related to planning, zoning, and other matters generally pertaining to the growth and development of the community. The Commission consists of nine (9) members to include the following:


  • Six (6) at-large members who are appointed by the Mayor with the approval of the City Council. All such members must be residents of the City of Grand Forks.


  • Three (3) persons residing outside the corporate limits of the City whose residence is located in the unincorporated territory within two (2) miles of the corporate limits of the City of Grand Forks. These members are appointed by the Grand Forks County Board of County Commissioners.


  • The City Engineer serves as a non-voting ex officio member of the Planning and Zoning Commission.


The Planning and Zoning Commission meets the first Wednesday of every month at 5:30 pm in the City Council Chambers located at City Hall. Members may also be asked to serve on subcommittees that meet on an as-needed basis throughout the year. If you are interested in learning more about the Commission before applying for a position, please feel free to contact Brad Gengler, City Planner, at 701-746-2661, or by email at


To apply online click here.

Return to full list >>

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer
The Planning and Zoning commission consists of nine (9) members to recommend the boundaries of the various original districts and appropriate regulations to be enforced therein (per North Dakota Century Code Sections 40-47-06 and 40-48-03).


Six (6) members to be appointed by the mayor with the approval of the city council.  Additionally, three (3) persons residing within the City’s extraterritorial limits to be appointed by the Grand Forks County Board of County Commissioners will serve on the commission as well.   Ex-Officio members include the City Engineer for a total of 10 commissioners.  Commissioners are appointed for 5 year terms.

  • Andrew Budke

    Term Expires:  11/8/2023

  • Cole Johnson
    Term Expires:7/6/2022

  • Peter Kuhn (County)
    Term Expires: 8/4/2021

  • Paula Lee
    Term Expires:  12/7/2021

  • Jamie Lunski
    Term Expires: 11/8/2023

  • Frank Matejcek (County)
    Term Expires: 9/19/2023 

  • Alex Reichert
    Term Expires: 12/07/2021

  • Meggen Sande  
    Term Expires: 7/6/2022

  • Steven Wasvick (County)
    Term Expires:  3/29/2021

Ex-Officio Members:
Al Grasser, City Engineer




Planning & Zoning Meeting Dates


Planning & Zoning Department